exotica-space jazz-world fusion
eclectronics-soundbits from

woensdag 26 augustus 2009

Phillip Glass - Orion (2005)

CD 1
1. Australia (12:14)
2. Interlude: Australia & China (2:18)
3. China (9:48)
4. Canada (10:47)
5. Interlude: Canada & The Gambia (2:24)
6. The Gambia (15:00)

CD 2
1. Brazil (10:24)
2. Interlude: Brazil & India (3:38)
3. India (12:51)
4. Greece (11:17)

Composer Philip Glass joins his own performance ensemble and featured guests Eleftheria Arvanitaki, Mark Atkins, Ashley MacIsaac, Wu Man, Gaurav Mazumdar, Foday Musa Suso, UAKTI and conductor Michael Riesman, in this recording of the premiere of Orion.

Orion is a work originally created for the 2004 Olympiad in Athens by Glass in collaboration with Mark Atkins, Ashley MacIsaac, Wu Man, Ravi Shankar, Foday Musa Suso, and UAKTI.

This dynamic piece, international in scope, reminds us of how all the earths' various cultures share an awe and appreciation of the starry night time skies.

2 opmerkingen:

Kimahri Ronso zei

Muchas gracias por el album, tenia horas buscandolo <3

José de Jesús zei


To the creators of "Chime", a Xbox360 game featuring music from Mr. Glass

To Mr. Glass for donating his art for such a noble cause.

To the creator of this blog for posting some of Mr. Glass' art.

To my dear fox-cub for finding this blog ~ I love you :3 ~~ <3